Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Women Nobel Prize 2009 | Budapest Blog

Nobel Prize 2009: Women Beat the Record

The notification of the prestigious Nobel prizewinners have already been made known. The various committees and institutions that award the prize in the different categories this year have surprised us with their decisions. Right now, the women beat the record because they have won five Nobels Awards this year. It seems that this area, hitherto male-dominated, is in a phase change.

Women Nobel Prize 2009

For an entire week everyone has been waiting impatiently for the results of the Swedish Academy of Sciences which granted by these prestigious awards. The committee discussed the possible winners of more than 250 candidates whose list is kept in the strictest secrecy. With this mysterious process clearly increased the impatience and curiosity of the public worldwide. After all, the nominations started on 5th October.

In the Medicine category the Americans Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Carol W. Greider and Jack W. Szostak has been them awarded. This way, there are two the awards that are aimed to women. The Nobel Literature Prize goes to the German poet and novelist Herta Müller, who was been chosen for its “concentration of poetry and the directness of his prose”. Also in the chemistry section the prizewinner is a woman, the Israeli Ada E. Yonath, who is considered as a pioneer on the ribosomes invesetigations. The U.S. Elinor Ostrom has also recieved an Awar, beating with her all the female records. She is the first woman rewarded with the Nobel Prize in Economics. Despite the feminine power, we can not forget the male winners, such as Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith, who have been awarded for the Physics Nobel for their advances in fiber optics and digital cameras. But the greatest surprises in the history of the Nobel Prize is, without doubt, the Peace Nobel Award of the year. The committee has decided to reward a political personality, the current U.S. presdient, Barack Obama, “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation among peoples”. The Prizes will be awarded on December 10th, on the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death.

The Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel created these prestigious awards in 1901. The awards are rewarded with ten million Swedish kronor, equivalent to about €980,000 and they can not be shared by more than three people in the same category.

Hungarians have also been awarded over the history of the Nobel Prize, such as Lenard Fülöp in Physics (1905) and János Harsányi in Economics (1994). Do you want to know this a beautiful capital? Travel to Budapest and rent great, comfortable and cheap Apartments in Budapest and enjoy it!

Posted via web from barcedona's posterous

1 comment:

Sisyphus said...

Herta Muller, as a writer, deserves the award. I don't know if the 'woman' thing plays a role. Let us just appreciate people based on the merits of their talent, and not their sex.

Youtube Videos

Blog Information Profile for fernandoseo
Bookmark and Share Add to Technorati Favorites